Watch out BitTorrent users, you may be at risk of being financially scammed - 14 April 2010 - XTG - forums, news, reviews, video game deals and more
Welcome Guest |Monday, 2012-05-21, 6:16 AM
 Xtreme Tech & Gaming Banner
 RSS Main | Registration | Login
Site menu
Our poll
Which gaming console do you prefer?
Total of answers: 7
Alexa Reviews
Review xtremetechandgaming.com on alexa.com
Main » 2010 » April » 14 » Watch out BitTorrent users, you may be at risk of being financially scammed
7:21 PM
Watch out BitTorrent users, you may be at risk of being financially scammed


blogtechnical.com

There is a new scam on the net affecting BitTorrent users, in an effort to try and extort cash from unsuspecting users. A hacking entity has formed a fake organization called ICPP Foundation which claims to be an online intellectual copyright organization partnering with real copyright from such as the RIAA, MPAA, Copyright Alliance and a few other well-known organizations. With all the hub-bub about illegal downloading, they are capitalizing on the fear BitTorrent users endure when they download illegal content.

The malware program comes attached to programs and plants itself into the PC user’s administration Application Data folder (C:\Documents and Settings\{USERNAME}\Application Data\IQManager\iqmanager.exe). When the virus activates, it scans the entire system specifically for .torrent files (legit or not) and then launches a fake application. The app listed all the "illegal” torrents and tells users why the files are illegal, with a full spread HTML evidence list.

The program gives you the option of either suffering legal consequences or pay a small fee close to $400 to waive the lawsuit (common sense alone tells you that can’t be right). If users choose to ignore the message, the system will display it every time the system reboots. Users who are afraid and want to pay are directed to a payment screen which asks for personal information such as your name, credit card info and other sensitive details. The system does not carry out the $400 credit card transaction, but still sends the data to the scammers, allowing them to carry out fraudulent activities with the newfound info.



They even set up a website at http://www.icpp-online.com (currently down at the moment). Various antivirus agencies have added the profile to their database. F-Secure has dubbed it as Rogue:W32/DotTorrent.A. Users are advised to update their antivirus program and run a scan to delete the malware. They are also advised not to send any information via the program.
Category: Technology News | Views: 208 | Added by: GeForce
Total comments: 0
Only registered users can add comments.
[ Registration | Login ]
XTG Twitter
Login form
E-mail:
Password:
Statistics

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0
Section categories
Gaming News [60]
Technology News [23]
Random News [0]
Tech & Game reviews [0]
Search
Entries archive
Visited Today
Copyright © 2012 - 2011 Xtreme Tech & Gaming created by GeForce, All rights reservedCreate a free website with uCoz